Home arrow Boxing Day Enduro Report 2009
Boxing Day Enduro Report 2009 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Manuel Bernardez   
Monday, 04 January 2010

James JackmanJackman’s BXDE Weavers Winner

Despite a last minute date change the 28th BXDE turned out to be a huge success with over 350 competitors lining up to tackle the demanding 8.5 mile Weavers Down course. Only a few days previous the venue was under several inches of snow but due to a late thaw had matured into prime Enduro going.

As the firework exploded signalling the start of the race it was Richard Ely who managed to run and get his machine started for the holeshot quickly followed by the rest of the Championship pack. Dorren Coutts was the first to emerge in the lead after doing a staggering 20 minute 21 second first lap which was never bettered all day, Poole MCS James Jackman closely followed by Expert Tom Horton coming in a full 1 minute later.

Brendan Styling ItYZF 250 mounted James Jackman took the race lead mid second lap and preceded to knock out 8 lethally consistent laps coupled with a lightning fast fuel stop to grab the Championship class win and the overall J.W (Bill) Boniface Trophy.

Expert Brendan Fairclough on the S4P Compound Kawasaki was the only one that was able to trade lap times with James, never quite overcoming his 1 minute start handicap finishing a mere 1 and a half minutes behind after 3 hours of gruelling racing. Mathew Bayliss nudged Daniel Beven by 7 seconds for the coveted top 3 overall spot.

It was another close finish for 2nd place in the Experts with Steve Holcombe just beating the fast starting Dorren Coutts. In the Over 40’s David Bayliss proved to be the man to beat with a commanding 10 minute gap after taking the lead from 2nd place finisher Richard ‘Big Bird’ Alldred on the third lap. Steve Bird held on to 3rd place from the rapidly approaching Mike Grounds who had to recover from a midpack first lap start.

Aaron SmithIn the hotly contested Clubman class ARD Honda’s Anthony Milliard took the victory from Pool MCS Aaron Smith while Anthony’s team mate Adam Ager come in 3rd, again a very close finish. Aaron takes The Tony Stride Cup awarded to the best Witley Clubman.

The Sportsman class proved to be once again the most popular class with over 160 starters, Iain Randall had a relatively comfortable win over Mitchell Merriman, Brett & Jamie Wilkinson had a race long battle over 3rd place with Brett getting the upper hand, both getting tantalisingly close to beating the clock for the extra lap to join Iain and Mitch on 6 laps.

Max VarneyIn the Youth group Rob Muscat took a decisive win with a clear 1 lap lead, completing an astonishing 7 laps and being not that far off a top 30 overall. Yamaha 125 mounted Max Varney was
2nd with another 1 lap advantage over Ben Harrison riding the less powerful CRF 150.

Paul Pelling and Sue Kemp won the Sidecar with another fine display of chairmanship for the second year in succession.
Joe Allaway the only Quad entry after a last minute withdrawal still pushed hard to complete 4 laps matching last year’s times.

Riders List, Results, Lap Times


Overall: 1st James Jackman, 2nd Brendan Fairclough, 3rd Mathew Bayliss.
Championship: 1st James Jackman, 2nd Mathew Bayliss, 3rd Daniel Beaven.
Expert: 1st Brendan Fairclough, 2nd Steve Holcombe, 3rd Dorren Coutts.
Over 40: 1st David Bayliss, 2nd Richard Alldred, 3rd Steve Bird.
Clubman: 1st Anthony Milliard, 2nd Aaron Smith, 3rd Adam Ager.
Sportsman: 1st Iain Randall, 2nd Brett Wilkinson, 3rd Jamie Wilkinson.
Youth: 1st Rob Muscat, 2nd Max Varney, 3rd Ben Harrison.
Best Sidecar: Paul Pelling and Sue Kemp.
Best Quad: Joe Allaway.
Teams: 1st Pool MCS Yamaha (J. Jackman, A. Smith), 2nd ARD (A. Milliard, A. Ager), 3rd Dirty Dogs (G. McCoy, N. Life).

Photos courtesy of Jackie Cogdell

BXDE around the web:
Gallery http://www.beckywiddicombe.co.uk/
Gallery http://www.actionpicsstore.com
Gallery http://www.janpix.co.uk/
Gallery http://www.enduropix.co.uk/
Gallery http://www.bikephotos.co.uk/

Video by Jack Soriano http://blip.tv/file/3023645/
Make sure to buy the next edition of UKXC magazine for a BXDE feature.

BXDE 2009 Supported By


Next >
©2008 Witley & District Motor Cycle Club Ltd|Company No 05654047|Privacy Policy|Terms & Conditions| Sitemap